Admins and users with the right permissions are able to add users with a role.
A role has attached permissions allowing a user to access, view pages and use its features.
In the following sections, you will learn how to manage your users.
Needed role and permissions
To manage users in a community, you need to have the role
manage_member. This role contains the following permissions:
|COMMUNITY_ADD_MEMBER||Adds new members to the community|
|COMMUNITY_LIST_MEMBER||Lists all members in a community|
|COMMUNITY_REMOVE_MEMBER||Removes members from a community|
Detailed page of a user
To access the detailed page of a user:
- Go to the page
Managed communitiesthat’s accessible by clicking on your avatar in the upper right of the screen
- In the tab
Users, click on the name of a user
From this page, you can:
- Add new roles to the user
- See attached permissions to each role attributed
- Access the list of assigned roles
- Delete assigned roles
- Delete user from the community
In MSSP communities
In an MSSP community, role management can be a bit tricky.
When a user is invited to the main MSSP community, the roles assign to this person are applied to all managed communities. Same behavior when a user is added on Main MSSP community.
In addition to that, external roles can be added in any managed community to the user role set previously in the main MSSP community. Roles assigned to a user in a managed community are independent from their roles in other subcommunities.
1) A user has been added with the role
IC_viewer set in the main MSSP community.
This user will have this role applied in all other managed communities.
2) Then the admin adds the role
IC_writer to this user in a specific managed community.
The user will have the role
IC_writer in this specific managed community in addition to the role
IC_writer set in the main MSSP community.
To learn more about how to invite users to MSSP communities, please refer to this documentation.
Create custom roles
As an admin of your community, you can control what kind of actions your guests are allowed to do. Our roles’ system is based on permissions already defined by us and we keep them up to date following our latest features.
For example, some users in your community will only be able to view data but cannot interact with it. Others can change the status of an alert, write a content proposal or simply duplicate a dashboard, without being able to access other parts of the app.
To create custom roles for your guests, you’ll have to:
- Access your
Managed Communitiesby clicking on your avatar on the upper right of the screen
- Click on the
Rolestab then on the
- Provide a
descriptionto your new role
permissionsyou want to give to your users
- Save your changes
You can edit or delete roles by clicking on the icons on the right side of the table that lists all the roles.
Permissions can be different depending on your job position at your company.
There are three main categories to all of these permissions:
In the next page, you’ll have a look at all our permissions depending on which product you are subscribed to.